top of page
courthouse painting 0001 - Copy copy.jpg

Interesting Facts

The Ordinary Guestrooms and Bassett's Tavern


George and Martha Washington Room

George and Martha Washington Room (Washington Room) is located on the 2nd floor, and its color is historic Travelers Red. General Washington would visit troops and dine at the Ordinary on the way to visit his mother-in-law at Chestnut Grove.


John and Letitia Tyler Room

The John and Letitia Tyler Room is painted in historic Chesapeake Blue, located on the 2nd floor. John Tyler held political dinners at the Ordinary in the 1830s. President Tyler's wife, Letitia Christian Tyler, was born, raised, and buried at her estate home in New Kent. 


Rochambeau Room "Parrot Green"

The General Rochambeau Room is painted historic Parrott Green and is located on the 3rd floor.  

Jean-Baptiste Donatien de Vimeur, Comte de Rochambeau is his full name, a French General that fought with General Washington during the Revolutionary War.  


Harrison Room

The Harrison Room is named for William Henry Harrison and painted the historic Governors Gold and is located on the 3rd floor. He was the 9th President of the United States as is from our neighboring county of Charles City. His WHIG Vice President was John Tyler, who became the 10th President of the United States.


"Queen Anne" Room

Queen Anne Room in Nelson Blue, located on the first floor and its own private entrance, is named after the Queen of the Pamunkey Indians until 1715. She fought for the rights of her people in the face of increased pressure from English colonists.  The Pamunkey Native American tribe was the most powerful tribe in the great Powhatan Confederacy, which consisted of 35 tribes with a population of some 10,000 people under the leadership of Chief Powhatan.

His territory encompassed the entire coastal plain of Virginia, from south of the James River to near Washington, DC.


Colonel Bassett Tavern

Colonel William Bassett built the Ordinary in 1692 as a tavern and inn directly across the road from the new Courthouse. New Kent was the County Seat and all types of business was conducted at the Courthouse at the time

bottom of page